Yaroslavl Oblast, Russia

Yaroslavl Oblast, Russia

Oh my God oh my God oh my God… The bears have learned to use weapons. It’s only a matter of time until Ursa Major here puts down that halberd and picks up an AK47 with her newly opposable-thumbed paws. The bear is also fully bipedal. Humans, bow before your new ursine overlords.

Oh, but it looks like she’s waving “Hi.” Maybe we should go over and see if she’s a friendly bear. You know, most bears are more afraid of us than we are of them.

The Horror! The Agony! She has sliced open my abdominal cavity and is feasting on my pancreas!!!! Get help quickly. Don’t let my death be in vain. Life is escaping me, but promise me. Promise me you will find the bear’s young and do to them what she has done to me…  ..    .

7 responses to “Yaroslavl Oblast, Russia

  1. Wow. I really wish they carried this at the local flag emporium.

  2. You’re wrong, my friend. The poor beast just want to help her comrade living in the arms of Madrid, Spain (http://www.crwflags.com/fotw/images/e/es)m-m88.gif) to cut down that tree and get the fruits.

  3. Annie Platoff

    I actually like this one. There is a great story behind it. When Yaroslav the Wise went to the region where the city of Yaroslavl is today he found that people there were in a bear cult worshiping a bear. So, to Christianize them he killed the bear with his poleaxe. I sortof like the irony that now, on the arms and flag of Yaroslavl the bear is armed with the poleaxe. The flag, itself, is a heraldic banner that replicates the field of the arms.

    Besides, this flag actually follows many of the principles of good flag design. It has a simple design, is easily recognizable, and has no writing on it!

  4. I like it! A flag that supports the right to arm bears.

  5. Awesomeflags.wordpress.com

    FTFY

  6. so Berlin should arm its Bear too ?

  7. Here we Stand!

Leave a comment